Bisexual Dilemma











{March 16, 2009}   Hate is Alive and Well

Bisexuals” are tearing the GAY and LESBIAN Community apart. We must stop them…

As a bisexual advocate, I am a member of a discussion forum for bisexual group leaders that is very active and, quite frankly, is the closest thing I’ve found resembling a bisexual community… even though it is a community of advocates. This morning I woke up to find the following discussion thread in my email. Unfortunately, I can not say that this is the first time I have read something like the following. Certainly I have been the target of such prejudice in the past and likely will be again in the future, which is all the more reason to raise visibility and social awareness about bisexual issues and in particular about biphobia… especially from within the LGBTQ community.

1a.
BIPHOBIA ALERT
Posted by: “estraven53″
Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:12 am (PDT)
This was posted over on BiRequest.
__________________________________________________________
hi i recieved a very biphobic message from a website that claims it supports “lgbt lisbean gay bisexual and transexual rights” they have a website:

http://greetingthestorm.webs.com/

the website starts out looking harmless but then talks about “the prospective, tragic threat, duplicity and danger of the “B” in LGBT, exposed.” They also have a site on youtube. com

http://www.youtube.com/user/euroboy11

i myself have a profile of bisexual fan made videos and i recieved alot of comments from em saying all the same thing! this is wat they wrote to me:

“SHAME ON YOU. Bisexuals are maintaining hetero-privilege and collaborating with the homophobes while simultaneously enjoying the gay lifestyle. Female bisexuals are attention seeking heterosexuals, while male ones are just self-denying homosexuals too afraid to fully acknowledge their true orientation. Bisexuals are actually closeted gay people who wish to appear heterosexual. Bisexuals want to undermine the GAY RIGHTS MOVEMENT. BI IS A LIE…..BEWARE OF THEIR VILE, HOMOPHOBIC AGENDA!!!!”

if u go to their home website, and click guestbook, u can see the

comments made from the creator like “BI RYHMES WITH LIE AND DIE” in their utube page, he says he wants to swipe the B out of the lgbt. i dont understand y there’s so much hate there but he wants to spread peace and unity between the str8 and gay community, while being terribly biphobic. i just though u shall all know abt this… And I agreed that this should go to a wider audience … He is on a free Website, and the hosts have a policy against their Websites being used in an offensive manner. The form to report that a Website is offensive is:

http://www.webs.com/pages/report/

If a lot of us report him, we should be able to get him shut down.

This reminds me of the whole Micheal Bailey thing…



Matthew says:

I recently was on a dating site and put “bisexual” under orientation and “seeking women” and received a lot of hate messages from hetero women that basically said the same thing.

I talked to a lot of bi-female friends who said “just put staight” they said they would not respond to a bi male ad as well. I have been very open about my sexuality since high school but now I really feel the prejudice.

BUT I have decided to do what my bi female friends suggest “claim straighness”. Gay men and Lesbians consider this a “privledge”.

But I have grown to learn that the prejudice is bigger than I ever imagined. But frankly I would rather get a date and find a long term female partner than make my personal life into a social political demonstration.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

